An exceptional jury for an exceptional competition!

To evaluate the creations from the “Young Bakery Hopefuls” on the 5th of February at Europain show, Lesaffre, creator of the competition, is endowed with an international jury drawn from two domains of expertise: technical bread making expertise and culinary expertise. The jury will award the “2016 World Young Bakery Hopeful” prize… a first in this field.

Pierre ZIMMERMANN (France)
President of the jury
A fourth generation baker-pastry chef, Pierre Zimmerman continues the family tradition with panache. In 1996, he made his mark on history by winning the Coupe du Monde de la Boulangerie. This exceptional president of jury is delighted to follow once again the 5 young people who have been selected through the Louis Lesaffre Cup.


Technical bread making expertise:

Mickael JAHAN (England)
This Vendée native has loved “pain au chocolat” since his earliest years. He followed his baking training with passion and determination, both in France and England. Serving the Queen of England and the Sultan of Oman are among his proudest moments!

Benny SWINNEN (Belgium)
International President of the Richemont Club Belgium, he is a competition regular and is always searching for new ideas based on good quality, local products and an international meeting of minds. A marriage of tradition and innovation!


Culinary expertise :

Hubert MAETZ (France)
This chef, an Alsace native, from the Rosenmeer restaurant in Rosheim, Alsace, employed his talent to win a Michelin star in 2015. For him “bread is the faithful companion of a meal, and it must be good quality!”

Nicolas RIEFFEL (France)
In 2010, this former sommelier from Alsace took part in the 1st season of Masterchef. In parallel, he launched, ‘Life is a Game’, his first line of technical professional clothing. His nickname “The Gastronomic Crusader”, his maxim “#nesoyezpassages”!